top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie

March Steadfast Reflection: Falling Down and Getting Back Up

(Scroll to the bottom of the page if you'd prefer to watch my video on this topic!)


I think we can all agree that March was a pretty crazy month for everyone. A pandemic was declared, and schools, storefronts, and even restaurants have closed. People are in three main camps: suddenly working from home, suddenly unemployed, or suddenly inundated with work while putting themselves at risk of catching a scary virus.




Most of us are feeling a little out of our element.


Based on how my steadfast journey went in March, it comes as no surprise to me that I’m not even sitting down to write out a reflection on the month until nearly half way through April. However, I said I would do it...so I’m doing it. (Even if it’s a few weeks later than I anticipated).


In recent years (and my whole life, to be honest) I have struggled with being consistent. I like to do what feels good in the moment, rather than sticking to plans or goals.

In fact, I am amazed by people who get up and run every single morning or who always follow the same nighttime routine before bed. I always think of doing a discipline like that, but it feels almost impossible to follow through with it. I forget, or change my mind, or...who knows?

This year, I am challenging myself to be more steadfast. In order to stick to that, I am reflecting on both the failures and successes of my steadfast journey each month. My hope is that by being vulnerable with my failures, you will realize that it’s possible to fail and get back up and keep going….and that by sharing my success you will realize that it’s totally possible to grow!

Steadfast---March

As I mentioned last month, when my schedule is thrown off, I really struggle to stay consistent. Needless to say, everyone is finding that their daily schedule looks much different now. Working from home has come with both blessings and challenges, but it has definitely made staying on a consistent schedule a challenge for me.

Success!


--Creative Endeavors--

As has been the case for the past few months, I have continued to show steadfastness in my creative endeavours. Honestly, I just love to create things. I love singing, painting, calligraphy, writing, creating video, etc. There is something innate within me that just longs to make things, which is why running a blog seems so natural.

Also, I shared on Instagram this month that I have been (secretly) running a youtube channel for a few months. I didn’t tell anyone partially out of fear of what they would think, but also out of a fear that I wouldn’t stick with it. Now that I have a few months of consistent posts under my belt, I decided I should not be so secretive about it...opening up about it even got me past the 100 subscriber mark, which was really fun!

I also decided that, as with most things in life, you can’t let fear of what others think hold you back. I know I have friends who think YouTubing (and blogging, to be honest) is super cliche. I’ve been reminding myself that I can’t please everyone, and also that it’s okay if we don’t see eye to eye on that. A lot of people absolutely love sports, and I don’t really see the point. Does that mean I dislike people who enjoy sports? Not at all! I’m trying to keep that in mind when those thoughts creep in. I’ve made this commitment to do something I truly enjoy, and I’m sticking with it.

Still Growing...


--Exercise & Eating Healthy--

At the end of February, I set some goals for myself in this area that, unfortunately, I did not follow through with. In March I went on a few walks outside, but other than that the exercising scene wasn’t great. Not to mention that when you sit at home all day the temptation to eat for no reason is real. I’ve seen so many great memes about this, which makes me feel a little more normal in this very weird time. However, Nick and I are already starting off April on a better foot. Hopefully by the end of the month I’ll see some growth here! I know I feel my best when I make time to exercise and plan ahead to eat healthy. Trying to slowly work my way back to where I was!


--Spiritual Disciplines--

March was a very spiritually dry month for me. I know we all have those seasons. February was a great month, but in March I just didn’t make time with the Lord a priority. There were so many days where the thought just didn’t even cross my mind. I have gotten pretty behind on the Bible reading plan I’m doing, but this month I’m already back on track. I think that has been the way I’ve been finding the most success. I’m not always meeting my goals, but I just keep going.

If anything, March has been a reminder that when you fall down, you just have to get back up again. We are all fighting against some very crazy, unexpected circumstances right now, and we need to do the best we can!

-Katie

PS: How is Coronavirus affecting your goals for 2020? Tell me in the comments!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page